What did 2013 teach me?

Only a few more days are remaining for this year to get over and for another year to begin. I’m not gonna say the clichéd phrases such as “Oh My God this year passed by so fast!” or “Another year is getting over and I haven’t done anything in my life” because you and I both know that there is no truth in these irrelevant phrases. Every year has 365 days (or 366), 12 months, 8,766 hours (approx.), 525,949 minutes and 31,536,000 seconds. So there is no way that the year passed by fast. As for what you’ve done with your life, well only you know what you’ve done…

Now lets come to me. All I can say is that this year has proven to be quite an important one for me. It was like a roller-coaster ride with my highs and lows. And hopefully my all time high is going to approach very soon.
Anyways, this year saw a change in my family life, social life, educational life and also in my physical surroundings. In short, my whole life changed.

There was the major change of environment as we came back to India after me spending 16 and a half years in U.A.E. And well, that’s the cause of all the changes in my life. While most of the changes were bad, they did teach me a lot about me and my life. So I thought that as the year is nearing to an end, I think I should reflect on what all is it that this year has taught me.

  • I understood who I really am – From the past 5 years I’ve been known for who I was then. Being with the same people and never having time for myself, I was convinced that that was my true self. But when I came here ans got time to myself, I realized that I wasn’t who I was 5 years ago. I’ve changed a lot, and it is for the good.
  • I don’t have a best friend – I don’t have a huge group friends. The number of friends I have is equivalent to the number of fingers I have. I’ve always been close with them but I soon realized that the ‘best friend’ factor is missing from my life. Someone with whom I can share all the matters regarding me without any hesitation. The hunt is on though. Hopefully I’ll find one very soon!
  • My mom is the best thing in my life – All the times I wailed about why am I living such a life, she’s always been there with me. Whenever she has been upset, I’ve tried to cheer her up. We have become incredibly close this year. She’s always either fighting for me, fighting with me or laughing with me at various things and people. The level of respect I have for her has increased to infinity and I seriously don’t know what I would have done without her, or without all her courage and strength. I feel honoured that I am her daughter.
  • I will love chocolates for the rest of my life – My love for chocolates has increased now. Especially when I’m not able to eat them because they aren’t easily available here. Distance has made our bond stronger.
  • Don’t trust anyone too easily – I din’t really trust anyone easily before, but still my trust and friendship was broken with a few people. I think you can say that they forgot me when I shifted here. And to be honest, it hurt me a lot because I shared a large chunk of my life with them and now they just don’t talk to me like before. But I don’t care anymore because I believe it is their loss. They’re gonna miss me when I’m gone!
  • Apparently I’m funny – I’m always known as the serious one in my friend circle, hardly laughing at any jokes. But recently I’ve been called funny. I think it is a hidden talent of mine. Hidden because I haven’t found it yet!
  • There is no reason to be anxious around boys – I went to a girls school in U.A.E. and I din’t have a life outside school so I never had to face any boys so forget even talking. Now that I’m here and the school is co-ed and the place has so many boys around, my anxiety has disappeared. Yaaay!!
  • There is no harm in making new friends – Being socially-awkward, making friends isn’t very easy for me. But somehow I’ve mustered up a bit of courage and as a result I have new friends now!
  • It’s good to loosen up a bit – I’m a really serious person and I take everything seriously. My life has always been between the four walls of my room. But since last year, I’ve loosened up a lot. And for reasons as such I can enjoy life a bit more than I used to.
  • I have a really good memory – Someone asked me what my first memory was, and I said it is of my first birthday and everyone in that room was shocked. Time and again it has been proven that I have a really good memory. But I don’t why it doesn’t stay the same way for studies though…
  • I can forgive, but never forget – I had to do a lot of ‘forgive and forget’ this year. I always thought that I can do it easily but I can’t. I just can’t simply forgive someone let alone forget about it. Even if I do forgive someone, I just can’t forget what they did. Its not possible. Disadvantages of having a good memory I suppose.
  • Giving second chances is not my thing – When you have done something wrong to me, you can’t expect me to accept your apology and give you a second chance. What’s done is done. Giving you a second chance isn’t going to erase the fact that there was once something you did to me which wasn’t acceptable. And don’t tell me that ‘life gives you a second chance’. Life doesn’t give second chances to anyone. It only gives you new beginnings.
  • I have weird characteristics and habits – I’m not gonna elaborate on this. Nope.
  • The virtual world is a brilliant place – This virtual world has been the place where I turned to while I was sad, or the time when I was happy. Also the perfect world to fangirl. So this world has played a big role in my life so far.
  • Music means the world to me – Music has played an integral part of my life. Whether it was when I wanted to hit my brother on the head scream at my brother for annoying and irritating me so much, or when I wanted to transfer myself to a peaceful location, music has helped me do that.

So this is what this year has taught me, alongside a few trivial things which you needn’t know as you’d get bored even more. All in all, I’m thankful for this year because it taught me things I never thought I’d ever be able to learn. Some things are important in your life but you may never know. You’ll only realize their importance when you are forced to.

What did 2013 teach you? Was it something great, or something that you’ll never talk about ever again?

2 thoughts on “What did 2013 teach me?

  1. I’m sorry it took me so long to read this because all your points about what you have learnt really resonated with me! I’m so glad that you made such big progress in 2013 and I hope you find that best friend you’re looking for, you deserve them! 🙂

Leave a Reply

