Bye-bye 2013. Hello Resolutions for 2014!

Its obvious that everyone knows today is New Year’s Eve but some people make it a point to mention about this a trillion times. I have come across countless number of statuses and tweets that are just plain, “Today is New Year’s Eve”. Thank you people for telling me. I don’t have a calender at home you see? You are the only ones  who reminded me, and maybe I owe my life to you because of this.
If that is not a response you wanted for those statuses, then what exactly do you have in mind?
If you do want to make a status about New Year’s Eve, why not make it something good?

This is one of the many things that people around me do every year. While some of the things are good, most of them aren’t very impressive. Especially such statuses and tweets and what-not. But something that kind of bugs me are the resolutions people make. I appreciate good resolutions, but most of the resolutions I come across are just…bad! And sadly, the bad resolutions are the ones that float around the internet, sinking the good ones.

This meme is something my friends and I tell each other 2 weeks before New Year’s Eve every year. The number of posts regarding the resolutions they have made for the new year are countless. Even more than the lame status “Today is New Year’s Eve!”

I get it, you want to try and bring a change in your lifestyle. So you resort to making resolutions for the new year. I’m not against that. I’m just against the ones which you know you will never accomplish and the ones which are just stupid.

I’m a student so most of the resolutions I see around me are to try and perform better academically. And I totally encourage that as a fellow student because its obvious that everyone wants to perform better. But at least think before making a resolution of this sort public. I’ll give you an example for better understanding –

Girl : (On 31st December 2012 types this as her Facebook status) “My new year’s resolution is going to be to top my class in the new academic year. I know I can do it!”

She somehow managed to pass the current year because she din’t study well. So all of us were hoping that she would perform better. And if she is to top, we were going to be extremely happy for her. (We aren’t so considerate all the time.)
After the two term exams, her results weren’t very good. And so obviously she din’t top. But since she made her resolution public, the few people who remembered kept teasing here.

Girl : (Today posted this as her status) “I know I was supposed to top this year, but that din’t happen. So I’ll just top next year. My resolution for 2014!”

Those who din’t remember her previous year’s resolution, now remembered. And then starts the humiliation which she somehow seems to enjoy it.

When you know you can’t achieve what you aim for as a resolution, then why act like you commit to it? More over, why make it public? It really doesn’t seem right.

Then are those type of resolution that people make which don’t even make sense. Like, “I’m gonna stop eating junk food” or “My diet is gonna be successful this time”. You and I both know its not gonna happen. If someone (most probably me) is to bring a pizza near you, you are going to end up eating half of it. So making such resolutions is just a waste of your time and  mine.
(I appreciate the sincere resolution about dieting and junk food though. Its just that there aren’t many sincere ones)

This is one of the most common resolution people make, And that is exactly what happens!!

So here’s wishing all of you a very Happy New Year! And do refrain from making weird resolutions for the next year. If you are to make a resolution, do make it a really good one and I hope you achieve it 🙂

6 thoughts on “Bye-bye 2013. Hello Resolutions for 2014!

    • Hey!
      Thank you for tagging me, that is a lovely idea you have. But I did do something similar to this sort in one of my previous posts called ‘What did 2013 teach me’. So I can’t do this. I’m really sorry 😦
      Thank you, and wishing you a Happy New Year as well!

  1. Pingback: Maybe I Am Biting Off More Than I can Chew, You Decide Bye Bye 2013

  2. Pingback: GoodBye 2013 | The Midnight Thief

Leave a Reply

