On being called ‘Funny’

We are just 3 days into the new year, and I witnessed a miracle! On the very first day, I was called ‘funny and hilarious’ and on the second day I made a friend of mine cry of laughter! This is nothing short of a miracle for me, and a great start to the New Year.

I know what you’re thinking. “What’s the big deal in being funny?” , “Why is she hyped about such a trivial thing?” or maybe something else but the fact is Β that this is a huge thing for me.
Why you ask? Well people, story time starts now.

A long, long time ago (I mean nearly 6-7 years back, not a hundred years ago) I was pushed by my parents to make friends with people who crack jokes a lot and laugh at the smallest of things. This decision wasn’t an easy one to take, but they knew the time has arrived for me to know what laughter is. It was a risk they were taking, letting a serious person like me enter a different world where people engage in laughter rather than talking about sensible stuff. There was the danger of me getting diverted into the wrong direction. But still they took the brave decision and said, “You have to do this Keerthi. You have to.” My mom hugged me tight before letting me go to that wild school bus and told me to be brave and not fear the obstacles that would be placed in my path to this unknown world of laughter and jokes. I was scared, very scared. But I mustered up the little bit of courage I had in me and went to the last seat of the bus and told the species sitting there, “I want to know what laughter is is. Can you please make me laugh?”
Everyone was shocked. No one had ever heard me laughing. And this sudden request was very astounding to them as they felt they have a duty to do. And then a few phrases were spoken on which the entire bus started laughing. I could hear the echoes of laughter in that bus, and then felt that there are a few eyes looking right at me. I din’t know why.
I stared at them back and one girl said, “Why didn’t you laugh?” I said, “Why will I laugh?” That girl then replied, “That was a joke. It was hilarious and you din’t laugh?” I replied very firmly,”Wait a second. That was funny? What are you even saying? That was not at all funny! How could you all laugh at it?”

My exact reaction at that time

The entire bus was silent. No one could believe what I said. The entire morning and the afternoon in the bus was spent by the school’s most funniest girl trying to make me laugh but I din’t even smile.
Another girl then said, “Maybe you are one of those rare people who has a very high sense of humor. I bet you if you tell a joke the entire bus will laugh.” I gave this task a try but failed miserably. From then on, I’ve laughed at only a few jokes which people say were the best of the lot but I’ve never been able to make anyone laugh. Every game where making others laugh was the aim, was a miserable failure and a loss for me. I was called a different specie of the human kind and I believed them.

I laugh at jokes and other funny things more now, maybe because everyone is finally getting their humor levels up to my bar, but I was never successful at making one person laugh. And then came this blog. I was just being myself and a few friends came up and told me, “There are some really hilarious stuff in your blog posts” , or “That post was really funny” or the most common one – “This post cracked me up. It made me laugh!” My reply to all of them was, “WHAAAAT?!”

I din’t believe all this and was convinced that it was some sort of flattery because there is no possibility that the one who is known to dissect jokes to a point where there is no sense in it all, has now made people laugh. It’s not possible! But then came the night of 1st January 2014.

I was chatting with a friend of mine and just told something and she said, ‘OH MY GOD. THIS IS THE MOST HILARIOUS THING I’VE EVER COME ACROSS! From where did you come up with that?” I said, “It was just my brain. And I din’t intend for it to be funny!” And she said, “This was so funny, I was laughing for five minutes straight!” And I was dumbstruck. Did I really make someone laugh?
And the very same thing happened yesterday where I made another friend of mine laugh till her stomach hurt. Did I really do that?

If this the magic of 2014 or a result of myself watching videos by various Youtubers on YouTube, I really don’t know. But all I do know is that this is a moment of victory for me and I am going to celebrate this moment. Because who knows whether I will ever be able to do this again?

2 thoughts on “On being called ‘Funny’

  1. Congratulations! You ARE funny, Keerthi, don’t you ever think otherwise. Once a funny person, always a funny person πŸ˜‰
    I love making people laugh. Just knowing that I put a smile on someone’s face completely makes my day

Leave a Reply

