A Letter to the Ghost living in this house

So I currently live in my uncle’s house just until my new home’s ready (was that too much of information?) and well, strange things are happening! I know there is a ghost living here and yesterday night’s incident convinced me.

I have always kept the speed of the ceiling fan right above me at two during the winters ever since I can remember.  So yesterday night was no different. But I woke up at around 5 in the morning all of a sudden because I felt a cold wave all over my body. I looked up and saw that the ceiling fan was rotating with a greater speed and was the reason I felt cold. Too sleepy to think, I just assumed that my mom might have increased the speed and so I fell back to sleep. As soon as I woke up the first thing I did was ask my mom, “Why did you increase the speed of the fan yesterday night?” And to my horror she replied, “Wait a second. I din’t increase the speed! When I checked early in the morning, the regulator was at four! I know you always want the speed to be at the second level, so I thought maybe it was a mistake!” I said, “I kept it a two, like all the other days. Who changed it to four?!” My mom was shocked as she remembered that she saw me keeping the speed at two yesterday before going to bed.

We both knew no one else changed it because my brother sleeps with us and he’s too short to reach, while my dad and uncle sleep in the room. So who changed the speed?!

If this was just a one time thing, maybe I wouldn’t be questioning this at all. But as you might have guessed by now, this isn’t the first time! So it’s time I addressed the ghost living here. And what better way to do it than writing a letter?

~~x~~

Dear ghost,

I hope everything is fine with you. There is no reason to tell you how am I because you can see that.

I’m pretty sure you are reading this as I’m typing and I have one request – please step up your game if you really want to scare us because right now this is how we think you look like.

And all of us know that this look of yours is far from scary.  So if your aim is to scare the life out of us, then that is not what is happening. What is happening is what I have written below :

  1. The Refrigerator – Sometimes at night while sleeping, the refrigerator makes weird noises. It sounds like someone is using a hammer and trying to repair something. My brother thinks that Bob The Builder might have visited us, but you and I know that it isn’t him. A cartoon character is taking all your credit!
  2. The Mobile – On almost every Saturday of the week, my mom gets a missed call from an unknown number several times a day. But only happens when we are in the house! We called the number back, but no one ever picks up! Everyone is thinking that it must be some cross-connection thing.
  3. My Uncle – I don’t think its humanly possible to fall asleep as soon as you hit the bed and also start snoring, but my uncle does so! My brother asked him once that how is it that he sleeps so fast and he replied, “What are you saying? It takes me a good 15 minutes to fall asleep!” My dad who sleeps with him says that he falls asleep as soon as he pulls the covers, but my uncle doesn’t seem to agree! We think that he’s lying.

Let me be frank with you. You are a very stupid ghost who is trying to scare us but is failing miserably at it! What is happening is surprising yes, but so not scary. This is just bull shit.

Everyone’s thinking that this all in our head and laughing at all this strangeness going around. Even my 10 year old brother isn’t scared of you. So that pretty much gives you the idea how horrible your scare-game is. My advice is that you join some school or college so that you learn what scary actually means, have a little bit of work experience and then only come back to this apartment. I’m pretty sure then you will be successful!

All the very best for your adventures. Hope to hear from you soon.
Till then good bye and take care
Keerthi

P.S. – Stop it with the missed calls already. I told you its useless!

P.P.S. – I’m sorry for not following the actual format of a letter. You are a ghost so I think you don’t have the same rules as us.

Leave a Reply

