A Walk That Hurts

Waking up in the morning listening to the sounds of the rain pouring out, I was happy for some unknown reason. Maybe it was a good dream that I saw which I obviously don’t remember, or maybe I just feel happy internally which is very strange. The reason remained unknown but I had a feeling it’d be a good day.

Boy was I wrong.

I put my feet down on the floor and stand up to only start feeling pain. Where is the pain coming from? Don’t know. What kind of pain is this? Don’t know either. My mind was asking too many questions and the answers were all unknown. Then it was only while I was sitting on my bed that I realized that it was my left foot which was screaming.
I look down and everything seems fine. I stood up and started walking and found my left foot refusing to touch the ground the way a kid refuses it’s veggies. (Okay even I do that at times but let’s stick to kids now)

While I reach the living room I realize what has happened.
I have managed to hurt my left ankle!

I thought I had just pulled a muscle and disregarded it. Just like I always do. But this time it was my biggest mistake.

Because in the evening my foot had swollen a teeny bit and the pain had reached new heights. I have only now realized that I have sprained my leg.

How did this happen? Why did this happen? When did this happen? Will I ever be able to walk again? What if I have to cut my leg off? Is this something big? Is this a symptom of a disease?
So many useful and useless questions were being asked. I started over-analyzing the situation like I always do and thought it was something huge and freaked myself out! But obviously it wasn’t a huge deal.

You see, I have always boasted about how I have never fractured a bone or hurt myself. This is the very first time I’m experiencing something of this sort so I started jumping to conclusions. Typical me.
There are firsts for everything right? Right?

It’s been two days now and I feel like I’m a lab rat for my mom’s experiments with home remedies. I’ve screamt so much that I’ve amazed myself at my lung’s capabilities. I’ve been in a lot of pain. A lot.

What bothers me the most is my incapability to walk. Yes I get people to do my work for me which is awesome! But I can’t even go to the kitchen to get me some food without going through pain. A simple task like walking would hurt me so much is something I never thought is even possible!

I walk only on one foot. I literally drag my left foot with me wherever I go. It looks like fun but let me tell you, it is NOT fun. I want to cry!

Give me a cane and a bottle of Vicodin pills and you have a female version of Dr. House infront of you. Minus the intelligence of course.

It’s day three today and my pain has reduced a lot. Looks like the experiments are working. But my walking it still funny. I used to trip over nothing before and I still do now. Nothing’s changed maybe? I don’t know.

All of this has taught me the importance of my legs though. Must admit that and appreciate them too!

Have you ever experienced something like this yourself? Share your experiences and you won’t win anything. But you won’t lose anything either right?

Leave a Reply

